MINUTE A&B

Special Shetland Island Council Council Chamber, Town Hall, Lerwick Monday 7 March 2011 at 2 p.m.

#### Present:

A J Cluness L Angus L F Baisley J Budge A T Doull A T J Cooper A G L Duncan E L Fullerton F B Grains J H Henry A J Hughson W H Manson C H J Miller R C Nickerson F A Robertson **G** Robinson J G Simpson C L Smith JWGWills A S Wishart

## **Apologies:**

Mrs I J Hawkins Mr R S Henderson

### In Attendance:

A Buchan, Chief Executive

H Sutherland, Executive Director Education and Social Care

G Greenhill, Executive Director - Infrastructure

C Ferguson, Head of Community Care

A Jamieson, Interim Head of Housing

G Johnston, Head of Finance

J Riise, Head of Legal and Administration

W E Shannon, Assistant Chief Executive

J Smith, Head of Organisational Development

B Hill, Acting Divisional Manager - Legal

A Cogle, Service Manager - Administration

P Peterson, Project Manager - Communications

L Gair, Committee Officer

#### Also

N Stewart, Consultant

# Chairperson

Mr A J Cluness, Convener of the Council, presided.

#### Circular

The circular calling the meeting was held as read.

### **Declarations of Interest**

Dr J W G Wills referred to the changes affecting the allowances currently received by some Members and asked if dispensation had been given to allow that discussions to go ahead. The Head of Legal and Administration advised that this matter was exempt from the provisions requiring declarations of interest within the Councillor's code of conduct.

29/11 <u>Improvement Action Plan: G02 – Governance and Shetland Islands Council</u>
Decision Making Structures

The Council considered a report by the Chief Executive and the Head of Legal & Administration (Appendix 1).

(Mr J G Simpson attended the meeting during the Chief Executive's introduction)

The Chief Executive introduced the report and advised that following this meeting, a huge amount of work would be done on the Council's Constitution, Scheme of Delegations, and Standing Orders. The Chief Executive extended his appreciation to Nigel Stewart for the work he had undertaken to reach this stage in the process.

During considerable debate Members spoke in support of the report and entered into some discussion relating to the detail of the proposals presented.

Members gave consideration to what decisions would be made at this meeting and received a number of motions and amendments in this regard.

Dr Wills moved that Members approve recommendations 1 to 5. Mrs L F Baisley seconded.

Mrs E L Fullerton moved as an amendment that Members approve recommendations 1 to 3 stating that the remaining recommendations should be dealt with at the next meeting of the Council on 23 March 2011, or as soon thereafter. Mrs C H J Miller seconded

Mr G Robinson, Mrs F B Grains and Mr R C Nickerson gave notice of further amendments.

Following summing up, voting took place with a show of hands and the result was follows:

Amendment (E L Fullerton) 12 Motion (J W G Wills) 8

Mr Nickerson withdrew his notice of a further amendment.

Mr G Robinson moved as an amendment that the Members approve recommendations 1, 2 and 3, with regard to recommendation 4, there should be no more than 9 Councillor Members on the Boards and that the Executive Committee should comprise of the Convener, Leader, 4 Main Committee Chairs (with Vice Chairs substituting) and 5 Members appointed from back bench Councillors. Mr L Angus seconded.

Voting took place with a show of hands and the result was as follows:

Amendment (G Robinson) 6 Motion (E L Fullerton) 13

Mrs F B Grains moved as an amendment that Members should not appoint a Leader and a Convener but there should be two positions namely Convener and Vice Convener. She said there should be only 4 Chairpersons appointed today. No seconder was received.

The Convener invited nominations for the positions listed in recommendations 3(a)-(e).

### Leader:

The following persons were nominated for the post of Leader:

L Angus

J G Simpson

Both nominees accepted their nominations and, following a short address by each nominee, voting took place by secret ballot, and the result was as follows

L Angus 4 J G Simpson 16

Accordingly, Mr Simpson was appointed as Leader of the Council.

## Chairperson for Children, Families and Lifelong Learning Committee

The following persons were nominated for the post Chairperson for Children, Families and Lifelong Learning Committee:

G Robinson W H Manson E L Fullerton

All nominees accepted their nominations and, following a short address by each nominee to the Council, voting took place by secret ballot, and the result was as follows:

G Robinson 4 W H Manson 6 E L Fullerton 10

In accordance with the Scheme of Delegation, a further ballot took place between Mr W H Manson and Mrs E L Fullerton. The result was as follows:

W H Manson 9
E L Fullerton 10
Abstention 1

Accordingly, Mrs E L Fullerton was appointed as Chairperson for Children, Families and Lifelong Learning Committee.

Uncontested nominations were received and accepted, for the following positions:

Chairpersons for Communities, Health and Wellbeing Committee

C L Smith

### **Economy and Development Committee**

Mr A T C Cooper

### **Environment Committee**

Mrs I J Hawkins (in absentia).

The Chief Executive advised that the next step would be to make further appointments at the Council meeting to be held on 23 March 2011. He also advised that a seminar would be arranged, prior to a further meeting of the Council, to give consideration to the constitutional documents and the details highlighted by Members during discussions today.

#### Decision:

#### The Council **RESOLVED** to:

- 1. adopt and establish a political management framework based on model 2 (Committee system) set out in the review report in Appendix A of the report;
- 2. approve amended role definitions for the position of Convener, Leader and Committee Chairs as set out in section 4 of the review report;
- 3. in line with its approved appointment procedures, appointed Senior Office bearers to the Executive Committee as follows:
  - a) J G Simpson, Leader of the Council and Vice-Convener (to be the Chair of Executive Committee.
  - b) E L Fullerton, Chair for Children, Families and Learning
  - c) C L Smith, Chair for Communities, Health and Wellbeing
  - d) A T J Cooper, Chair for Economy and Development
  - e) I J Hawkins, Chair for Environment; and
- bring the remaining considerations and appointments to a later meeting of the Council.

A J Cluness	 	 
Convener		

The meeting concluded at 3.35pm.