UK Parliamentary Election 2019

Orkney & Shetland Constituency

Thursday 12 December 2019


Scottish Liberal Democrats candidate Alistair Carmichael has been re-elected to serve as MP for Orkney and Shetland.

The declaration of the final results for the Shetland and Orkney Constituency was made at around 6am on the morning of Friday 13th December 2019.

After the votes were counted at Kirkwall Grammar School, Returning Officer John Mundell, announced the total votes cast for each candidate:

  • Alistair Carmichael - Scottish Liberal Democrats – 10,381
  • Robert Fraser Leslie - Scottish National Party (SNP) – 7,874
  • Jennifer Fairbairn - Scottish Conservative and Unionist – 2,287
  • Coilla Anne Drake - Scottish Labour Party – 1,550
  • Robert Watt Smith - The Brexit Party – 900
  • David Stephen Barnard – Independent – 168

The turnout across Orkney and Shetland in the UK General Election was 67.93%, with 23,240 votes cast. The total number of ballot papers rejected was 80.