Mobile and Community Libraries

Mobile Library and Home Delivery service

Shetland Library Mobile

In response to feedback and increasing customer demand, from Monday 4 July 2022, we will be expanding our service in rural areas. We will be offering customers visits from our big Mobile Library van or delivering a pre-selected collection of Library books to your home with our smaller delivery van.

Please note that Mobile Library visits and home deliveries will now operate to a 6 week rotation, 3 weeks apart.  So, for example, either the big Mobile Library van or the small delivery van will be in your area once every 3 weeks.  We would like to encourage folk to choose their own books on the Mobile Library, rather than use it as a delivery van.  Please click on the links below to see when the Mobile Library van or the delivery van will be in your area.

Mobile Library Timetable 2024

Home Delivery Timetable 2024

If you have any questions, or are a new customer who would like to know about our Mobile Library and Home Delivery service, please contact us by phoning 01595 743868 or emailing shetlandlibrary@shetland.gov.uk

Week beginning Monday 26 February 2024

Day Date Mobile Library (Big Van) Mobile Library (Peerie Van)
Monday 26.02.24 Library Library
Tuesday 27.02.24 Unst: Baltasound, Haroldswick, Norwick, Burrafirth & Uyeasound Fetlar
Wednesday 28.02.24 Hillswick: Urafirth School, Urafirth, Hillswick & Eshaness Library
Thursday 29.02.24 Library Sandwick: Gulberwick, Quarff, Cunningsburgh, Sandwick, Hoswick & Levenwick
Friday 01.03.24 Whalsay: Symbister, Brough & Isbister Library

Week beginning Monday 4 March 2024

Day Date Mobile Library (Big Van) Mobile Library (Peerie Van)
Monday 04.03.24 Library Library
Tuesday 05.03.24 Sandwick: Quarff, Cunningsburgh School, Cunningsburgh & Sandwick Aith & Bixter: Clousta, Twatt, Aith, East Burrafirth, Garderhouse, Reawick, Skeld, Selivoe & Bixter
Wednesday 06.03.24 Sumburgh: Virkie, Quendale & Bigton Skerries
Thursday 07.03.24 Library Sandness & Walls: Whiteness, Bridge of Walls, Walls, Sandness & Weisdale
Friday 08.03.24 Library Library

Week beginning Monday 11 March 2024

Day Date Mobile Library (Big Van) Mobile Library (Peerie Van)
Monday 11.03.24 Library Library
Tuesday 12.03.24 Nesting - Brae: Nesting School, North Nesting, Brae, Mossbank & Voe Yell: West Yell, West Sandwick, Herra, Sellafirth, Cullivoe, Camb, Mid Yell, Aywick, Burravoe, Ulsta & Coppister
Wednesday 13.03.24 North Roe & Ollaberry: Ollaberry School, Ollaberry, Lochend, North Roe School, North Roe & Sullom Library
Thursday 14.03.24 Library Whalsay: Symbister, Brough, Skaw, Isbister & Huxter
Friday 15.03.24 Library Library

Week beginning Monday 18 March 2024

Day Date Mobile Library (Big Van) Mobile Library (Peerie Van)
Monday 18.03.24 Library Library
Tuesday 19.03.24 Central: Bressay, Staney Hill, Scalloway, Trondra & Burra Unst: Baltasound, Haroldswick, Burrafirth, Uyeasound & Belmont
Wednesday 20.03.24 Library Library
Thursday 21.03.24 Library Northmavine: Urafirth, Hillswick, Eshaness, Heylor, Ronas Voe, North Roe & Ollaberry
Friday 22.03.24 Library Library

Week beginning Monday 25 March 2024

Day Date Mobile Library (Big Van) Mobile Library (Peerie Van)
Monday 25.03.24 Library Library
Tuesday 26.03.24 Aith & Bixter: Weisdale, Aith, Clousta, Sand, Reawick & Bixter Sumburgh: Dunrossness, Virkie, Quendale, Scousburgh & Bigton
Wednesday 27.03.24 Sandness & Walls: Sandness School, Sandness, Walls, Happyhansel Primary School & Skeld Primary School Library
Thursday 28.03.24 Library Sandwick: Gulberwick, Quarff, Cunningsburgh, Sandwick, Hoswick & Levenwick
Friday 29.03.24 Library Library

Week beginning Monday 1 April 2024

Day Date Mobile Library (Big Van) Mobile Library (Peerie Van)
Monday 01.04.24 Public Holiday Public Holiday
Tuesday 02.04.24 Yell: West Sandwick, Gutcher, North Sandwick, Cullivoe, Camb, Mid Yell & Aywick Brae: Brae, Muckle Roe & Mossbank
Wednesday 03.04.24 Whalsay: Symbister, Brough & Isbister Skerries
Thursday 04.04.24 Library Nesting & Vidlin: Nesting, Laxo, Vidlin, Voe & Girlsta
Friday 05.04.24 Library Library