Joining and using the library

Opening Hours

Public Library Opening Hours

Monday 10.00 am - 8.00 pm
Tuesday 10.00 am - 5.00 pm
Wednesday 10.00 am - 5.00 pm
Thursday 10.00 am - 8.00 pm
Friday 10.00 am - 5.00 pm
Saturday 10.00 am - 5.00 pm
Sunday Closed

Public computers close down automatically 15 minutes before closing time.

Christmas Opening Hours

Saturday 24 December 2022 10.00 am - 5.00 pm
Sunday 25 December 2022 CLOSED
Monday 26 December 2022 CLOSED
Tuesday 27 December 2022 CLOSED
Wednesday 28 December 2022 10.00 am - 5.00 pm
Thursday 29 December 2022 10.00 am - 5.00 pm
Friday 30 December 2022 10.00 am - 5.00 pm
Saturday 31 December 2022 10.00 am - 5.00 pm
Sunday 1 January 2023 CLOSED
Monday 2 January 2023 CLOSED
Tuesday 3 January 2023 10.00 am - 5.00 pm

Normal opening hours will apply from Tuesday 3 January 2023

Community Libraries

Baltasound Junior High School - Tuesdays 4.00pm - 6.00pm (during school term time)

Brae High School - Tuesdays 4.00pm - 6.00pm (during school term time)

Mid Yell Junior High School - Wednesdays 6.00pm - 8.00pm (during school term time)

Public Holidays

The Library takes the standard six Shetland Island Council public holidays: Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day, 2nd January, Up Helly Aa Wednesday and Easter Monday.

We sometimes open slightly different hours between Christmas and New Year.